Match Incidents Clarifications – Premier League Round 11 (According to the Laws of the Game)

Match Incidents Clarifications – Premier League Round 11 (According to the Laws of the Game)

01 June 2025, 15:12
The Director of the KFF Refereeing Department, Nuno Alexandre Parreira de Castro has published explanations regarding individual match incidents from the 11th round of the Premier League.

Zhenis vs Ordabasy

Min 26 – At the beginning of the away team attacking phase, away player 15 and  home 7 had a very slight and normal contact. Referee correctly allowed play to continue as there was no foul. At the end of this attack the away team scored.

After the goal was scored VAR incorrectly intervened and advised the referee to do an On Field Review.

The final decision from the referee was not correct, canceling the goal and awarding a free kick on APP for the home team, as this was a normal contact between players.

Min 61 – On an attacking movement by the away team, close to the penalty area, away 11 was playing the ball fast. When he was trying to come more to the central area he crossed with defender 6 and fell down. Referee incorrectly awarded a direct free kick and showed a 2nd yellow card to the defender.

There is no visible contact on the legs or foot between defender and attacker, and the very slight contact that might have happened with one arm/hand was not enough to award a foul and a 2nd YC.

VAR can’t intervene in these situations, according to the VAR Protocol.
 
Min 81 – On an attacking movement by the away team, the ball is crossed to the center of Penalty Area where an attacker heads the ball and then his colleague away 11 kicks the ball from GK hands and scores. Correctly AR delayed the flag but at the end he raised it awarding and Offside.

There is a clear offside by away 11 on the moment his colleague headed the ball  which became punishable when he challenged the goalkeeper for the ball.

VAR correctly validated Assistant Referee information to award offside.

 

Aktobe vs Kairat

Min 56 – Away player 9 was running fast with the ball towards the home team penalty area, when home 5 coming from the side tripped him with no chances to play the ball in a fair manner, making him fall and stopping a promising attack. The referee decided to give only a verbal warning to the player.

The correct decision should have been to award a YC to home 5 and as it was the second yellow card to the player he should have been sent off.

VAR can’t intervene in these situations, according to the VAR Protocol.

Min 67 – While challenging for the ball, away player 55 clearly used the arm raised to stop opponents progress and he hit his face while doing this. Referee was not aware and play continued until the away team scored on that attacking phase.

Correctly while checking the Attacking Phase Possession, VAR advised the referee for an On Field Review with clear images.

The referee's final decision was correct to disallow the goal and show YC to away player 55 for illegal use of arms hitting opponents’s face. As it was the 2nd YC the player was sent off.

Share
Up