Match Incidents Clarifications – Premier League Round 23 (According to the Laws of the Game)

Match Incidents Clarifications – Premier League Round 23 (According to the Laws of the Game)

15 September 2025, 17:38
The Director of the KFF Refereeing Department, Nuno Alexandre Parreira de Castro has published explanations regarding individual match incidents from the 23rd round of the Premier League.

Atyrau vs Tobyl

Min 90 – Inside the home team penalty area, the ball is challenged by away 11 and home 37. They both stretch to the ball. The away attacker manages to touch it and after there is a minimum contact between both players as a normal consequence of both movements. The referee was close and with a good view and correctly allowed play to continue.    

Correct no intervention from VAR after having checked the incident.

Correct final decision from referee to allow play to continue.
 

Turan vs Ulytau

Min 51 – Challenging for the ball, away defender 23 and home attacker 88 enter the away team penalty area. Defender was running ahead when home 23 put his left arm in front of defender making slow down and after that he put himself in front of defender initiating the inevitable contact and then attacker let himself fall as soon he felt slight contact. The defender did not make any extra movement unless running towards the ball. The referee correctly allowed play to continue.      

After having checked the incident, the VAR incorrectly advised the referee for OFR.

Correct final decision from referee maintaining his initial decision to allow play to continue as there was no foul from away player 23.

Min 90+7 – After the ball is crossed inside the away team penalty area from long distance, two players jump for the ball. The away defender 3 is in front of the attacker and plays the ball with the arm completely out from the body making the body bigger. The referee, although well positioned, missed the incident.    

Correct intervention from VAR advising the referee for OFR, after having checked the incident.

Correct final decision from referee awarding penalty kick.

 

Ordabasy vs Zhenis

Min 83 – Inside the home team penalty area, the ball is challenged by home defender 23 and away attacker 63. Away attacker stretches the leg first and plays the ball, and defender is late and kicks opponents foot in a reckless manner. Although the referee is close he misses the incident.    

Correct intervention from VAR advising for an OFR, after having checked the incident.

Correct final decision from referee to award a penalty kick and a YC should have been shown.

Min 87 – At the penalty kick, the kick is taken by away 9. The home goal keeper makes a save and away attacker 39 enters the penalty area and kicks the ball, scoring a goal.    

After having checked the incident, VAR incorrectly informs the referee that attacker 39 encroached the penalty area and the goal should be disallowed.

As stated in VAR IFAB/FIFA protocol, the referee does not need to go for OFR when a factual decision is taken and he follows VAR intervention.

This was a wrong decision as the Book of Laws of The Game states the following: “Restart position: A player’s position at a restart is determined by the position of their feet or any part of their body which is touching the ground, except as outlined in Law 11 – Offside”.

In this episode, at the moment of the penalty kick was taken, any part of the body (including, the feet) of goal scorer #39 didn't touch the penalty area line or the ground inside the penalty area. Consequently, there was no offence by that player.

Share
Up