Match Incidents Clarifications – Premier League Round 18 (According to the Laws of the Game)

Tobol – Kairat
Min 15 – Inside the home team penalty area, home player 18 raises the leg and clearly plays the ball with his foot. On his back the attacker also moves in his direction and when the defender is going to bring his leg down he accidentally touches the opponent slightly on the chest. This was the normal movement for the defender which has no other option to move.
Referee correctly allow play to continue as there is no foul from defender.
Correct no intervention from VAR.
Correct final decision from referee.
Min 55 – On a challenge close to the half-field line, home player 6 stretches his leg and hits his opponent nº 18 with his studs on the ankle. The movement is made with some intensity, from some distance, with a straight leg and using the studs on the opponents’ ankle.
Although close, the situation was very fast and with contact low in the leg, and the referee missed to see clearly the situation, awarding the yellow card for reckless tackle.
The VAR correctly intervenes advising the referee to an OFR.
After watching the incident the referee incorrectly maintained his decision. All the criteria for a red card for serious foul play are there.
Incorrect final decision from referee.
Min 75 – Inside away team penalty area, home attacker 11 heads the ball towards goal. In front of him was away defender nº 3 and the ball hit his arm which was not close to the body and made his body bigger
The referee was very close and in a good position and correctly awarded a penalty kick.
Correct decision from VAR not to intervene.
Correct final decision from referee.
Min 77 – Challenging for the ball with his opponent, home player 6 raises the leg up to head level to play the ball but at the same time touches his opponent's head. The home player took the risk and made a reckless tackle on his opponent.
The referee was very close and in a good position and correctly awarded a foul and showed YC to home player 6. This player had already received a yellow card before in the match and so he was correctly sent off.
This situation is out of IFAB VAR protocol (yellow cards).
Correct final decision from referee.
Elimai – Zhetisu
Min 34 – Inside away team penalty area, away defenders 17 (and 15), blocked and tripped home attacker nº 19, including trying to make a reckless tackle from behind.
The referee missed the incident and incorrectly allowed play to continue.
The VAR correctly intervenes advising the referee to an OFR. After watching the incident, the referee correctly awards a penalty kick and also a YC to away player 17.
Correct final decision from referee.
Min 84 – Challenging for the ball, away player 74 used his leg to do a up/down movement clearly playing in a dangerous manner to his opponent even if just slightly touched the opponents’ foot. This is not a correct way to try to play the ball when his opponent was going to kick the ball in a normal way.
The referee was very close and with good awareness, showed the Yellow card to away player 74 for reckless tackle. As the player had already received a yellow card before in the match he was correctly sent off.
This situation is out of IFAB VAR protocol (yellow cards).
Correct final decision from referee.